Facts about College

Fact about College of Health Sciences

Year of Establishment

  • 1971 as the Faculty of Health Sciences (formal inauguration – 8 May, 1972).

  • 1995 as the College of Health Sciences (formally approved by Senate – 29 March, 1995).

First session

September 1972 – Foundation students were admitted into the Faculty of Health Sciences

Degrees awarded

  • Undergraduate
    • Medicine (MB ChB)

    • Dentistry (BCh D)

    • Nursing Science (B N Sc.)

    • Medical Rehabilitation (B.M.R)

  • Postgraduate
    • MSc/PhD

Faculties, institute and departments

The College of Health Sciences comprises of three faculties and one institute. The three faculties are made up of departments of various medical disciplines while the institute focuses on multidisciplinary public health research and development efforts. In total, the College has 24 departments.

Foundation Dean

Professor T. A. I. Grillo

Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology

Number of Alumni
Number of Department

Get In Touch

We will get back to you between 5 days of working hour.