Department of
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care

Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2386 of /var/www/vhosts/

Brief History of the Department

The department of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care was created in 1983 with Professor Shirley Kelly who was appointed from the United Kingdom, as the first head of department. She worked with the University for one year. Because of the dearth of qualified physician anaesthetists, three nurses were recruited into the department to be trained as anaesthetists and provide service in the hospital. At the same time, doctors were also employed as Research Fellows to be trained overseas to take over the running of the department from the expatriate staff. The Department was not able to employ the services of another permanent staff to man it until 1999 when the current head of Department was employed. Since then active training in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care has commenced to urgently address the issue of the dearth of manpower.

The department was first accredited for Postgraduate training in 2001 under the leadership of the current Head of department. The Department produced the first Professor of Anaesthesia in the University in 2009. Also, the department has trained staff who are presently working in various hospitals in Nigeria.

Admission into the Department

Anaesthesia is taught in the Clinical years - Year 5. Students must have passed the Courses in Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry and Pharmacology in the Pre-Clinical years before admission into the Course.

Courses taught 

Courses include intensive and elective clinical posting with topics in Resuscitation, Pain and Palliative Care management, Intensive Care medicine and other related aspects of Anaesthesia.

Achievements of the Department

The Department has been in the forefront of providing Anaesthesia for complex surgical cases since 2001. Complex surgical cases that have been handled in the department include:

  • The staffs of the Department were part of the first wholly indigenous staff of any teaching hospital in Nigeria providing Anaesthesia for Renal transplantation in 2002. This has been widely acclaimed in the University and nation.
  • Anaesthesia for separation of Siamese twins
  • Provision of Anaesthesia for Cochlear Implant in Deaf patients
  • An active Post-operative Pain and Cancer pain management programme.
  • An active Intensive Care Unit (ICU)